The Nelson Kayak and Canoe Club was founded in 1991. Since then it has been a steady presence at Lakeside Park, offering classes, outings, and boat storage.

The 2016 Sprint Team season is off to a great start. Under the leadership of head coach and club president Jason Rusu the club continues to grow.  Jason in an ex-Olympian paddler and his enthusiasm and expertise translate into unparallelled experiences on the water.

Now in its third year, the club has been expanding programming.  Our youth racing programs is tailored to youth ages 10-18, but new to 2016 is a womens paddling program, and a Thursday night race series.  We've got the BC Cup 2 in Kamloops in July, the 2016 BC Summer Games in Abbotsford in July, Calgary regatta in August, and the BC Championships / Pacific Cup in Maple Ridge in September.  We are also having an entry level competitive coaching course July 8th to 10th.

The youth program practices are Mondays and Thursdays from 4:30pm to 6:00pm, and Saturdays 9:00am to 11:30am.  We meet at the Nelson Rowing Club pavilion at Lakeside Park in Nelson BC.

Women's Wednesdays on the Water

We are also having a Women's Wednesdays on the Water, for new and experienced paddlers alike.

Join us for fun, social evenings on the lake!

  • Nelson Kayak and Canoe Club is starting a woman's program
  • Never paddled?  Come learn the basics.
  • Experienced paddler?  Make some new friends.

Read more!

Latest News: Thank you to our supporters!

Saturday 26 November 2016

Successful fundraising in 2014-2016 allowed the NKCC to purchase a 4-person kayak and a second-hand C4 from the Calgary Canoe Club which was then revamped and repaired by Hellman’s Canoes.  Thank you to the City of Nelson, RDCK, Nelson District Credit Union, IODE Nelson, Calgary Canoe Club, Hellman’s Canoes.  Thank you to our youth members for fundraising efforts including Reece Boulanger for writing the 2016 CBT-CIP grant and to Reece and Heather Potkins for presenting to the City of Nelson and RDCK.  Thank you to Dave Potkins, and Jason Rusu, for all the support and in-kind work.  Current funding priorities involve expanding the number of seats to provide for community programs with intermediate stability boats.

Read older news

Our Sponsors